stupid cough

Kids gave me a nasty cough.  I sound like a harbor seal.  This is not fun.

Anyway.  I got the hiring paperwork done today.  Then I wandered over to see my friends at the college where I used to work.  I figured I didn’t want to debit card 0.50 so I’d take the time to visit.  It was really nice.  It turns out my old boss (the one I really like) is working on a research project with one of my new bosses.  I know both of my references from that old department – my old boss and another of my old faculty – gave me glowing references, so I wonder how much that had a say in what happened.

It’s a really nice thought, actually.

Even if it was just my charming self (ha) that did the job in the interview, it’s a nice thing to think.

So.  I refuse to buy a campus parking permit.  They’ll charge me for the entire academic year, even though I’m starting midway.  They’ll charge me the missed portion and do payroll deduct for the other part.  I really dislike that whole notion, so I’m going to ride a bike back and forth.  If weather or circumstances dictate otherwise, I’ll get Todd to drop me off… but that’ll be the exception rather than the rule.

It means I’ll need to hunt down a good cold weather coat and I’ll need a bike helmet, but it’s worth it.  I’ll be carting my backpack anyway and I can pack things to freshen up when I get there.  Based on timing, worst case it’ll take me 20 minutes to get there… possibly as low as 15 and there are bike paths for the busy streets.  We’ll hunt down a good lock and flasher lights so I’m nice and visible.

It seems appropriate, given that I’ll be working for an energy policy group.  Todd and I agree it’ll be better.  Less wear and tear on the vehicles.  He’ll be carting the kids, so he can drive the van and that’ll mean if I get into a sticky situation, he can pick me up and pack up the bike.

I’ve done bike commuting before and I really liked it, although I was in my 20’s.  It’ll be interesting to see how it works out when I’m in my 40’s!!  So long as I’m prepared, I think it’ll go fine.  I just need to be organized and ready to deal with surprises.

Well.  The cough is getting to me and I’m tired.  It has been a long day.  Mostly I’m just glad that I’m figuring a few things out and prepping for what is coming.  It’s easier to deal with change if you accept it and work with it, rather than against it.  I’m still nervous about the parts of this that are unknown.  At the same time, I have confidence in myself and my abilities – plus, I know the campus and how (most) things work.  There have been changes to processes, but it’s nothing that a little bit of training/orientation can help with.

I hope I can sleep tonight.  I have a lot to do this weekend and I don’t want to be tired.

cheers and a hack or two…
moonfire

Leave a comment