…and yes, my jaw hit the floor!

Contacted by a prior boss.  He told me about a new position with the research group I worked for just before I became a financial aid counselor.  He asked if I’d be interested in applying…  after discussion, yes – I will be applying.  It’s open competitive, so there are no guarantees.  During the conversation he said, “When I was working on developing this position, I thought, “Who I really need is another “moonfire”.”

He emailed me to ask if we could meet to chat on the same day I found out that I won’t be able to get a raise at my current position.

Yes, I’m quite sure that the shock about this opportunity will last a long time.  No guarantees, which I acknowledged.  At the same time, the compliment of being asked to put in my application for this will last for a long, long time.

moonfire

*Note:  My former boss is a dad with two kids around my boys’ ages.  He told me the position has been designed to be 40 hours per week.  It would be a raise.  The logic is undeniable.

Leave a Reply

