Call me “Towel Goddess”

Forgive the wee rant.  I’ve got my typical insomnia (broke through Ambien in just 4 hours… yay me) and I feel like I need to write, even if it’s just this little thing.  Christmas has become faintly painful for me.  You know those stories about odd things that people get from well-meaning family members?  Well.  I have received over 40 towels over the last 5 years.  Two years ago alone – 8 towels.  Last year – 8 towels.  This year, I kid you not – TEN towels.

I have lovely towels that are thick and beautiful, in colors I love.  And every year it’s the same thing… more of these bath towels.  And trouser socks in polyester and nylon that I cannot now nor ever could wear.  And hand lotion that gives me violent headaches.

This year, when I opened the gift bag, I felt that nervous, hysterical giggle bubble up and I almost began laughing.  I reigned myself in and made it through, but next year is definitely in question.

I have come up with a perfect solution:  The pretty tropical ocean colors are going to my mum.  Two of them we kept as replacement for a couple that simply have outlived their usefulness.  And four are going to the Women’s and Children’s Alliance (along with the nail stuff and the hand lotion, as well as the socks).  Mum will totally love the colors of the new towels, the two that we kept are excellent replacements (although I’m getting rid of at least 6 because who the hell really needs this many towels??!) and I’ll feel happy about passing on some nice new things to the WCA that might make a family feel better about their situation – or at least go for a decent amount of money in their thrift store to support them.

I feel like I’m caught between a rock and a hard place now, though.  Each year they give me tons of the things and each year I have to hunt down homes for them like some lost little kittens.  I can’t say anything without hurting feelings, which I won’t do.  Yet, it makes me insane each year and I’m worried that sooner or later I’m going to blurt something out.  Opening gifts has become this weird effort in self-control.

On an opposing note – my beautiful sister in law gave me a box of herbal tea, fuzzy socks, chocolates and a gift certificate for Barnes & Noble.  I just about started crying.  Honestly the tea and the chance at some new books was beyond wonderful.

My sister was also completely wonderful with the boys…  She’s a student (and doesn’t this sound familiar?) and much like us, things are tight…  She sent two wonderful presents for the boys that made their day.  My little guy is insanely happy with his RC car and my oldest and I are digging into the chemistry set, since completing his quilt got full-stop since my 8 year old sewing machine desperately needs a tune-up and won’t “go.”

Gramma Donna gave funds to get me something for the holidays and new winter boots for Todd.  Both have been on hold while we got through the holidays, but it now appears that Gramma Donna (my mum) will be funding my sewing machine repair bill.

Other family both blood and by friendly “adoption” provided gifts of money which allowed me the wonderful Christmas present of being able to afford to do gifts for a few family and the Mie Mie children.

So here is my note, in advance of next year:

Dear Santa,
Please help me keep the towels at bay and if you could arrange more tea (I love decaf Chai) and books, that’d be lovely.  If we could also squeeze in some time for sewing and maybe make the laundry pile a bit smaller, that’d be lovely too.

Thanks so much,
moonfire

*******

As for the new year… no, we are not going out to brave the noise and crowds.  I can’t think of anything more hellish than that, honestly.  I expect that we’ll hang here at the house, with a decent bed time and hopefully a nice breakfast in the morning.  I would rather not be social that evening, but would like to be with Todd and the boys, here snug in the house.

Well I’ve been up since 2:50 this morning and it’s now 5am.  The kids will be up in a couple of hours and I’m thinking that some sleep would do me good or it will be a long miserable day.  Actually a cup of tea and a book still sounds good – hmmm…. book/tea or sleep?

Yeah.  I’d better sleep.

Cheers,
moonfire

2 thoughts on “Call me “Towel Goddess”

    • Uh huh, and I’ll be sending the next batch your way!! Seriously though, mum will love the tropical ocean blues of the ones I’m sending her direction. For the briefest moment I wanted to keep them, then I did 3 loads of towels this week and through a hissy fit. I’ve got a ton bagged up for the donation as I type this. I swear they are breeding hand towels and worn out wash cloths in the cupboard too.

Leave a Reply

