Light at the end of the tunnel…

I’ll preface this with the news that we’ve got a new sinus infection running through the house.  I’m a giant ball of misery and I’m really hoping that I bounce back before Monday, because our office is already down one counselor for the week.  Ugh.

So I was doing a little administrative maintenance on my school stuff this morning, when I started listing out my courses so I could calculate my current GPA.  It’s not too bad, especially when you consider that I “let” a class go in March.  I was burnt out and depressed, so I did what I needed to do.  Luckily for me, my other performance in the program has been excellent, so my GPA got bruised but not crushed.

I looked at the list of courses I’ve completed, grinned over my healthy GPA and started thinking about where this might put me if I was a canny person.  I pulled out the catalog, yet again, and went through the list of courses necessary for the MBA.  Best case scenario, I need 4 classes and I’d graduate.  Worst case – 5.

I could be done next June.

There are some big changes being worked on at the federal level right now and, to be honest, I hadn’t really thought about the potential this could have to kill my financial aid for the 2011-2012 school year.  All I’ve been focusing on is how I could finish just one important thing this next year and find a LITTLE peace from the pressures I’ve been under.  This is all subject to my having my transcript reviewed by an academic advisor and getting confirmation about the number of courses remaining that I’d need to take.  But, I could do it.  And I could beat the reg changes that could potentially kill financial aid for me at the school.

Maybe it’s a little bit of fate.  My boss told me it doesn’t matter what graduate degree I get – to just get one.  The regs are coming through.  I’ve got a nice bunch of credits accomplished that just happen to meet 2/3’s of the degree requirements (or more).  I can be done in 9 months.

And if it means taking 2 classes at one time for the May 2011 session, I’ll do it.  Just so I can be DONE.  I’d finish up mid-June and finally have that one thing that has been hanging over my head checked off permanently.  Whatever came after that, I’d be free.

My kids will likely pass out from happiness.

I know I will.

So yeah.  I’m calling the advisor on Monday and I’ll get it arranged.  It has been an interesting and fun trip, but I can’t go through another August in the Financial Aid office while I’m in school too.  It was horrible and I don’t need to stress myself out like that again.  I’ll be able to give more to my family and more to my job.

Now the difficulty is waiting for Monday so I can confirm all this and get it squared away.  I need to change my enrollment for the November session (which starts at the end of October).  I’ll tell them the classes I want for the remaining sessions and then I’ll be done with it all.  This means I’ll probably be taking Applied Managerial Statistics for the November session.  That actually sounds like fun to me.  Then January will be Managerial Finance, March will be Legal, Political and Ethical Dimensions of Business, and May will be Business Planning Seminar (plus possibly one other class, which would probably be the Enterprise Database Admin class).

Then I’m done.

I’m betting big changes are coming for July 1, 2011 in the world of for-profit universities.  This may ultimately be a HUGE blessing.

moonfire out.

Leave a Reply

