Small steps forward

I will likely say this any number of times over the next year or longer.  This is the toughest job I ever had.  I work harder each day than I’ve ever had to do in the past, so some days I feel the fatigue catch up with me and I feel that faint nostalgia easier days.

Would I trade it though?  No, I would not.

Direct student contact is probably the most exhausting and simultaneously the most rewarding.

What have I learned in the last 2 1/2 months?  I’ve found out that yes, I really want to pursue an academic advising or higher ed degree at some point.  I can wait and it may be years until I feel even close to wanting to do more school, but I’d love it I think.

What I have also learned is how desperately I want to be done with my current degree program.  I can’t imagine how wonderful it would be to ONLY have work each day, each week.  Oh bliss.  It would be lovely.

But back to work.  It isn’t perfect and there are times when I could almost weep because I have no idea how I will make it through all my work.  And then something else happens – a student says thank you… I come up with a solution… I help someone or perhaps even have to give them bad news.  It doesn’t matter what the “it” is, there is always something that crops up, reminding me exactly why I should be there.

It is the very nature of having to enforce rules and having to apply restrictions to a system, a group, that is why so often financial aid personnel are disliked.  But I’ll tell you – every single one of the people in our office cares.  They are compassionate.  They are dedicated.  They want to make a difference.

I just thought I’d put that out there.

And now I’m going to shut down for the evening.  It’s time to enjoy some relaxation and finish my cup of tea.

cheers,
moonfire

Leave a Reply

