I can handle the wrinkles, but THIS?

I killed my back yesterday.  I took it, walloped it and then paid the price last night.

I’m cool with the effects of aging.  So I’ve got age spots forming and the laugh lines around my eyes give my face distinction that it used to be missing.  I don’t mind the silvers coming in on my head.

What I really do NOT like is my bad back and sore joints.

I’m 40.  Not freaking 80.

So here’s the deal.  I’m giving my back another day of rest and then tomorrow I’m back to dancing.  It simply isn’t possible that I can leave myself in this kind of shape.  The sore joints will be tougher to deal with.  I’m thinking I need to add a single aspirin to my regimen each day.  Now, as I typed that I could feel a small snort well up.  “Regimen”??  Number one, other than ensuring that I’m dressed and clean each day, I’d be hard pressed to prove there is any regimen involved.  Soap yes.  Order?  Not so sure.  Secondly, just by using that word alone, I’ve aged myself about 20 years.

Nice.

Ok, more than 20.

Depending on how things go today, I’m thinking I need to get in and have the knots worked out of my back.  I can’t see any way around it.  The Tiger Balm helped last night, however, I think the long term impact is greater than anything it can do for me.  And water – lots and lots of water.  A cleanse would be nice, but given the bathroom situation at work, I kind of consider that unwise.

After Friday’s lovely dinner – I seem to be craving more purple cabbage.  Odd thing.  I’m not sure why.  Don’t even get me started on the ginger-sesame dressing, either.

Well, my little one is off for his day and my big guy is sleeping soundly.  Dad is likely snoring and the only reason I can’t hear him right now has more to do with my stuffed head than his possible “quietness.”

Oh yeah.  I’ll pay for that comment at some point.  But when your honey is sweet enough to put Tiger Balm on your miserable back, you know he loves you enough to put up with pokes about his prodigious rumbles.

On that note, I think I’ll crawl back into bed for a little while and try for a bit more snooze time.  Even 20 minutes might help at this point.

cheers,
moonfire

One thought on “I can handle the wrinkles, but THIS?

  1. I just found out that my elderly friend will be 98 on her birthday…and I have crows feet and SHE doesn’t. She doesn’t even have a single wrinkle..she has beautiful flawless skin. Has never worn make up other than lipstick and uses plain soap and water for cleansing! I’ve got those aches in my back and bones, too…but the alternative to aging sucks!

Leave a Reply

