About last night and Press N Go

First, my long-time friend took me out for a lovely dinner.  We sat in this funky little organic tea place, eating our asian-influenced cabbage/carrot/red pepper salads and drinking Fairy Flower tea.  If you live in the Boise area, check out Shangri La… the proprietor has wonderful teas, a sense of humor, and food that will make your mouth water before it hits your table.  I strongly recommend the Super Pudding!  Don’t be put off by the ingredient list… trust me on this.

So H*, my long-time friend, and I sat and had great conversation that roamed the gamut.  She has had some interesting events happen recently and it made for good, mind-bending conversation as we navigated the possible meanings of it and how it made both of us react.  I’m seriously glad that she has such a level, steady (and H*, I don’t mean this in any “ouch” kind of way – although I know you won’t take it that way) head on her shoulders.  She knows who she is and she is very confident about what she feels about things.

We traded back and forth on ideas, something that I always enjoy, and at the end of the evening I had that sense of happiness I get when my mind has been exercised.  I really don’t think there’s any other feeling like that!

I did share some of my (once again) meanderings and logic paths that have recently cropped up.  I don’t know where I’m heading with these ideas, but at least I’m taking them out and giving them a run for their money.  For the first time in a long, long while, I’m reluctant to pursue this train of reasoning, even though I suspect it might be the right thing to do.  We’ll see.  Todd will be a big help in my working through it, I’m sure.

Right now I’m pressing fabric like a mad woman (ok – in the interest of keeping this clear, I’m spraying fabric with starch, letting it soak in and slightly dry, THEN I’m pressing it).  I need to have it done before Bren gets home from the museum.  It’s the fabric for the quilt.  Yes, we’re behind schedule but I think we’re going to make up for it after yesterday’s really lovely quilting bee with his class.  Maybe this was the inspiration that I needed?

Yep.

And on this same note, I’ve been giving a lot of thought to my need to create something.  I’ve got limitations on my time and can’t make a huge commitment to something that is really involved.  So given those limitations, I think periodic quilting sessions might be the ticket for me.  Now I’m mostly talking about the piecing stage.  The actual quilting stage is going to be a bit harder for me…  I don’t have a big work space in which to do it, so I might keep that aspect kind of simplified.  Bren and I are going to do a tied quilt for his.  We’ve got a cool, multi-colored yarn that we’ll use with our space quilt.

Crud.  I just realized that I’ve got to find my cool white and silver fabric that we’ll use for the backing.  I can’t begin to guess where it is…  Hmm.  I’ll have to do some digging in the garage.  First things first, though.  We have to get the piecing done.  We can worry about that next stage when the time is right.

Anyway, that’s my story for today.  Wonderful visit and talk last night (not to mention amazing food and tea) – great excitement in the world of creativity and being mom to a really cool pair of kids today.  And my honey is doing the super neato dad thing.  It’s all very good!

cheers on a funky Saturday,
moonfire

One thought on “About last night and Press N Go

Leave a Reply

