tired eyes, but the paper is done

I submitted my applied research paper at noon today.  It felt so good to be done with it.  I won’t say it’s A grade work, but I think it’s a relatively solid B.  Given the nature of the topic, the requirements for the grade and the amount of time I put in on it, I’m satisfied.

It could have been better, but then again I ALWAYS think it could be better.  I ended up with a 10-page, 2800 word paper.  I had 10 references and I think I addressed the substance of what needed to be covered.  I’m not submitting a draft to our university ISO until I get the true cost data from the company I was researching.  Still, even given the lack of response from them, I think I found some highly valid information.

I’m thinking I’ll send the paper on to my dad and let him check it out.  I don’t know that it would fully stand up to scrutiny from an English major and I’m fairly certain a long term, highly experienced business person would punch holes in my analysis, but I did the best I could given the limitations I’m working under.

I sure as hell learned a LOT about DMCA takedown notices and the product that helps a university avoid them.  It was a very educational process and I believe strongly that’s the point of doing applied research.

I wish I had better training in research and research methods, especially as far as literature searches and reviews.  Synthesizing the material that is out there is tough work if you have any lacking in your skill set.  Still, I’m pleased with the result that even my not-so-great skills brought out.

The only thing I’m concerned about is the assumptions that I had to make in order to do my cost analysis.  Damn that company for not responding to me about the cost data on the service plan!!

grr.

Lesson learned on that one.  Call early, call often, in order to get what you need.

The boys are in bed and it was a lovely day.  Todd bought me roses – one for each of my guys.  We had a lazy afternoon, together, and then dinner out as a family.  As we were leaving, the hostess gave me a lovely white carnation and it had a tag saying that a donation had been made to the local children’s hospital in my (meaning the recipient’s) name.  Seriously, it brought tears to my eyes.  I can’t think of anything sweeter than that for Valentine’s Day – well, except for being with my family and kisses from my boys.

It really has been a nice day.  Getting that paper done this morning was the best.  It left me the rest of the day to relax and all the worry from the last 6 weeks has just ebbed away.  I hate being a perfectionist…  it creates issues when projects like this come up.  I set such high expectations…

Anyway, it’s time for bed.  We stayed up late watching “Eureka.”  If I could live in any fictional place, that would be it.  I LOVE that show.  Between renting the first two seasons of Numbers and watching Eureka, I’m a very happy woman.  Math and science.  Sweet!

cheers to all on this lovely quiet evening,
moonfire

One thought on “tired eyes, but the paper is done

Leave a Reply

