a quiet morning

Cuddled the boys in the big bed this morning.  Talked to Brennan about the significance of today.  Hard to explain to someone who is really so innocent about the history that leads up to today.  Harder still to help him understand why it’s important to remember and to think about it.  Emphasizing that what is inside a person is more important than the exterior surface is hard when, as he put it, it is so illogical that it would be any other way.

Of all the things that it is difficult to teach, explaining tolerance is one of the hardest, mostly because it seems strange that we should even have to teach it in the first place.  Why isn’t it natural?  And maybe that’s the challenge in our household – trying to explain that there are still people in the world who will treat a person differently (as less) because of how they look, what they believe, or who they love.

I’m hopeful that my children will live to see a day when the world will look back and pity those people with those hates and prejudices, but I suspect we have a long, long way to go.

I wish my children could grow up never knowing that it was even possible to think that way.

So we had our cuddles this morning and I talked to Bren about a few things.  Aidan mostly just sat next to me, quiet, with piplup clutched in his hands.  Maybe he was still trying to fully wake up.  I don’t know.  He was kind of peaceful and not his normal squirmy little self.  Bren provoked him until finally I had to intervene.  We don’t need an irritated toddler on such a nice, quiet morning.

Todd is still snoozing and I’m organizing our day.  I have two movie passes and mum still hasn’t seen Avatar, so I’m going to check in with her.  Somehow, I think sharing that beauty and more cuddling with the small guy would be a perfect midday treat.  I have the usual list of things to do – laundry, homework, reading with the kids…  but right now I feel like relaxing for a moment, taking time to enjoy the start of a day.  Busyness can come a little later.

I’d love to close with something significant and heart-felt about the day, but it’s more than I have in me right now.  I’m doing my best.  Maybe that’s what 2010 is going to be about – doing our best, hanging in there, no promises, just putting one foot in front of another.

I’ll save hopes for 2011 and 2012.

cheers from a moonfire drifting about in thought…

One thought on “a quiet morning

  1. See we are headed in the right direction when we don’t need to teach tolerance and acceptance because it is all ready there. I found that to be the most fascinating thing to have learned from my children. Because I grew up in a small southern town and in a different time, this was something that I learned as I grew..it was not innate as it should very well be.

Leave a Reply

