What a day!

I have blisters from walking all over campus.  I froze my ass off because the little converted house that we work in is only warm when the heat is actively blowing.

It was wonderful.

My new boss has two kids, a 2 1/2 year old and a 5 year old.  We shared stories about the ups and downs of parenting and trying to study/research/write.

I jumped in on some things and some will be slightly on hold while the university HRS gets me entered into the system.  It was pretty much what I expected, but at the same time different.  I am busy but they are letting me get my feet under me.  I need to dress in layers and in comfortable, easy to move around in clothing, because I need to get some things set up.  I have a list of things I need to bring in with me.  So I’m raiding the house and bringing a few things in.  I really need a plant.

OH!  The giant window next to my desk?  Heaven.  Sitting next to the front door?  Chilly as hell.  But that’s what sweaters are for and we don’t get anybody except us and the mail guy coming in, so it’s good.

I’d say more, but I’m heading to bed and the small dude will NOT settle down.  He’s totally working it with “I want my soft blankie,” (which I have put over him 4 or 5 times already, with the same results) and I need to sleep.

Ok.  One final hurrah – both my bosses ride their bikes to work (weather and meetings schedule permitting).  I’ve got permission to wear denim, unless we have a tour coming through or a big meeting with the VP of research.  I’m going to take a garment bag in with a skirt, dress shoes and tights/hose.  I’ll keep them there as back up for those “oops” or just in case times.  Other than that, it’s pretty much what I expected.  I understand the flow and I know I can do this well within my comfort zone.  I can study in a nice, brightly lit space on my lunch hours.  I can get my work done and I have an excellent support network in place.

Every person I saw, those who knew me from before and those just meeting me, all welcomed me and it was once again like being home.  Yeah.  I’m a giant wuss and I’m institutionalized.  But I’ll get my MISM and I’ll find a way to make it work in a higher ed realm because that’s really where I like to be.  Whether or not it’ll be my university, well… who knows?  I can make plans until I’m blue in the face or I can just roll with the flow.

Here’s me rollin’.

moonfire

Leave a Reply

