Christmas Night

I’ll make this short, as we need to get the kids to bed.

It was a lovely day spent with family.  Santa was generous and the spirit of the day was festive.  Todd and I are tired, mostly due to coordinating with Santa, but also a bit of the stress of last few months still resided with us.  I think the next 10 days will be a time of renewal – something much needed in our household.

Saying good-bye was not as hard as I thought it would be yesterday.  I will miss my team and several of the individual people I worked with, but, for the most part, this final week of work only reinforced why this was a good decision for me.  I realized yesterday that if I was facing that job next week, I might well be crying this weekend.  I don’t say that lightly and I don’t say it for drama.  It was all I could do to hang in there these last days.  The core issues that lead to my decision to leave were in full force.

I won’t dredge it up yet again.  It’s done.  I’ll miss some people and that’s a good thing.  It means I did make some connections there – including a couple friendships that I plan to maintain.  One of the guys I worked with is fantastic and we share some things in common – enough that we can share a good chuckle over things that we find in the world.  I hope some day to meet his wife and kids.  And I hope some day he can hang out with me and Todd, sharing a beer and a laugh.

My mum is in Canada with our family.  Todd’s aunt is with his family, here in town.  We are tucked in to our warm house with our dog, Danny, and my mum’s kitty, Ratty.  It feels like a sweet end to a tough year…  some of our loved ones are close by and some are far away, but missed.

Time to wind down the day.  Todd and I have made a pact to take time for ourselves each evening that remains in 2009.  Perhaps if we focus and take the time for us, we will start a pattern that will carry into the new year.

cheers to all on this lovely Christmas holiday,
moonfire

Leave a Reply

