Saturday morning with Queen

Todd’s playing various Queen songs on Youtube.  Man.  That was a damn fine band and Freddie Mercury was mind-bogglingly talented.

Pick a song by them and then do this… imagine years from now.  That song will still be played.  People will still be rocking out to it.

Isn’t that an amazing thing to consider?

And it is a wild thing to consider he’s been gone for 18 years now.  Todd played “Innuendo” which is supposed to be the last song Queen released.  It’s incredible too.

***

It just makes me think.  That’s all really.  And I’m enjoying listening.  It’s like no time has passed since the last time I heard their music.  Freddie still has my vote as greatest rock singer.

***

Time to shower and get the last of the party prep done.  I need to do laundry, clean house and get some reading done for my class.  The day will disappear in a flash of smiles, sugar, and noise.  Just the way a party day should go, don’t you think?

I’m working on a concept for a new blog with Bren.  I’ll still be here, emoting, etc., but this other one will be our joint perspective on the world… with Bren leading the way.  It may be limited at first, but if I can help him find his voice – his way of expression – then it’ll be worth it.  I want him to understand the power that words can have.  And I want him to know that writing is an art worth pursuing…  Actually, there are several arts I want to share with him, but let’s start with writing first.

and this brings me to my final thought before the busy day really takes off:  Art at the public schools here is strictly done with parent volunteers from the classroom teaching it.  No volunteer?  Then a class does not get art instruction.  How sad is this?  Most parents, myself and my husband included, have to work each day.  The implication is that if we cannot take time off (and we all know how bosses love giving time off), our children will not receive art instruction.

I understand… math, language arts, science, social studies, health… list your subject.  They all have to fit into the day, along with play time and lunch time.   Music, library, PE… these are limited to a specific day each week.

Where does Art fit in?

Without Art we lose…

… we lose on creativity

… we lose on expression

…color, line, dimension, form, function, shade

…appreciation for how materials can be shaped, reshaped, pressed together, taken apart

do we even realize how this relates to Engineering, Chemistry, Physics, Math, Writing, Reading, Communication?

***

As Freddie sings “Bohemian Rhapsody” in the background, I close this down.  Inspiration can be found all around us.  I hope I stop worrying about all the stress and open my eyes.  My children need me to return to that enthusiasm.

cheers from party central,
moonfire

Leave a Reply

