good night

Heading to bed.  Long drive (2 hours there and 2 hours back), but we were with family as we said celebrated Todd’s gramma’s life.  The casket seemed too small to contain such a tall, vibrant woman.  She was 97.  I can’t imagine living that long… imagine all the things she saw in her years.  It boggles my mind.

I love Todd’s family and I’m so glad we were all together.  Now I’m tired and I’ve found another small piece of calm for myself – I have the interview with that department at my old university.  It’s set for Monday, 4pm.  I was told my references were glowing.

I’ve been up since 2am, so my mind is not all it could be.  I will note this:  after I had the interview on Friday afternoon, I actually slept, without the aid of sleeping pills, on Friday and Saturday nights.  If that isn’t telling, I don’t know what is.

My eyes are burning and I feel like I’ve been hit by a bus.  I would love to write a bit about the wonderful lady I talked to today – a friend of Todd’s family who lives about a block away from his gramma’s hosue.  I promise to write more about her later.  She was wonderful and I loved talking to her today.  Sometimes you meet someone and you feel a kinship…..  and that’s what I felt.

I hope I have the chance to visit with her again. Her birthday is tomorrow – she’ll be 77.  I hope she has a lovely day.

good night from moonfire and the family…

Leave a Reply

