Week 7

Yesterday was the start of week 7 of my 8 week class.  Week 8 is really just a partial week and it only contains the final (3 1/2 hours, ouch).

I took today off from work and I’m staying home with my boys.  I’m going to read the chapter before they wake up and then I’ll make them breakfast and find out how Bren’s first real concert was.  I’m excited and I can’t believe how fast he’s growing up, still keeping in mind that he’ll be 7 next month.

And I can’t believe how quickly this class has gone by.  I spent the majority of the class “losing my mind” here at home, so I can’t help but feel that getting through it, regardless of my grade, is an achievement.  It has been a challenging class and my instructor is the best I’ve had here at Keller.

So two things I’d like to say and then it’s time to get my day going…  First, I’m glad I switched over to Information Systems Management.  Someone told me years ago I should consider getting into the “field” (it’s rather broad, so I use that term loosely)…  I have had to work harder in this class than any other I’ve taken in graduate school, at least from the standpoint of getting my brain to grasp new ways of thinking.  I still have a long way to go, as was evidenced by my freak out yesterday.  Thankfully, Todd calmed me down when he got me redirected to think boolean.  Dammit.  I knew this.  I knew how to start headings… it was the same concept!  Ugh.  I don’t know what I’d do without Todd to bring me to my senses.

Second thing:  I thought I was losing my mind.  I thought I’d turned into a crazy woman.  Hell, the nurse practitioner at my doctor’s office referred me for a psych eval!  Turns out that it was over-the-top PMS and I seriously, no joking, have to get in to have my hormones checked out.  I’m looking forward to going back in for my follow up appointment and telling her that no, I don’t need to spend all the money on the psych eval…  It’s my damned hormones.

Although, yes, for the record, we think I’ve got SAD adding to the mix.  Yay me.  But that wasn’t unexpected and I write this as I sit bathed by my little light box….  (Todd has suggested that I create some sort of hat and have it hanging over my head permanently, along with a small plant attached to one arm so that I’ll have a nice, constant source of oxygen… I resisted the urge to smack him because I think that might not be far from the truth…)

The next is TMI – so any guys reading, stop right now and go enjoy something else… this is strictly for the women…

My cycle is seriously screwed up.  21 days this time and that NEVER happens to me.  It’ll go long – like 33-35 days – but short?  I was tracking them a long time, due to the whole drive for my children, and that never happened.  Over the last two years I’ve been relatively regular and I just knew (within a few days) when to expect it.

I knew a couple weeks ago that I was ovulating and I couldn’t believe it… so I thought maybe I was mistaken, even though I know more than I really ever wanted to about that stage.  (Yeah, the baby thing was a driving force for many years… Todd called it Shan’s Science Experiment)

I think the baby is waking up, so I need to head out.  I’m calling the GYN’s office today and getting in to consult with them.  They’re wonderful and they’ll tell me what to do.

day is starting… Cheers moonfire

Leave a Reply

