…that hurt.

I’m fighting some kind of bug… likely something the kids infected me with, so I’m just prefacing this with that nugget.  I feel crappy and I’m running a low-grade temp.

So I took my mid-term today.  Blew it in grand style.  I’ll get the grade next week, but I imagine it’s somewhere between a 65 and 70%.  Doesn’t mean things are toast for the class, but it’s going to be uphill to survive to the end of this class.

I’ve been feeling under-the-weather for about four days now.  Not something I need in the 4th week of class, but that’s where I am.

I’ve got things fixed for next session, so hopefully it won’t suck as bad as this one has.  I don’t know if I’m cut out for this.  Maybe I’m just not.  Maybe I just want to go back to knowing that I’m going to work a long, long time for very little money but I’ll be with my family, enjoying our time together…

Being sick is dragging me down both mentally and emotionally, so I take what I’m thinking and feeling and step back, knowing that my thoughts are being tinged by the effects of the heat and the fever.  Not a good time to be assessing my academic future OR my lifetime stretching out ahead of me, right?

I’m stunned though.  It’s been a long time since I’ve really done that poorly on a test.  I told Todd it was as if I’d been studying Spanish for the semester, came into the test and it was on French…. similar but different.

Ouch.

And my head feels blech.

And my tummy.

And these damned cysts need to get a life and move out, permanently.

Wah, wah, wah…

Ahh, that feels marginally better.

Things are odd at work.  Not because of me, but just because of circumstances that don’t have anything to do with me but still impact me.  One of our team is gone and I really liked her.  I don’t know the full story and, frankly, it isn’t any of my business, but it still makes me uncomfortable.

As I’ve said before (I think), I’m working harder there than I have anywhere else and I’m beginning to worry that I’m going to burn out.  I’m trying to find ways to let things go.  Apparently blowing things up and battling alien cultures helps, so I’m playing my game a bit.  And reading light, unimportant fiction helps too.  Sadly, it impinges on my study time.

But when you deal with something all day, it’s hard to come home and study it.  Ironic, isn’t it?  I wanted to work in my field of study and instead I find myself exhausted.

Still loving the networking book though.  I do seriously love hands on things…

That’s it.  I’m toast.  I need to drink more fluids and hope that the day doesn’t go by too quickly.

moonfire.

Leave a Reply

