Time to wind down after a busy weekend…

Saturday I got my last learning module done in the morning, then I forcefully WILLED myself to get the two finals done.  I had 3 1/2 hours to take each one and got both done in a total of 3 1/2 hours…. which felt good.  My Managerial Accounting final was one of the toughest I’ve ever had to take and I’ll count myself as very happy if I managed to squeak out an A, although a B will be just fine thank you so much.

I just spent 3 1/2 hours knocking out a final two-part project for my AIS class.  I am seriously pissed at myself for not getting that thing done two weeks ago… or even the first week of class.  Lesson learned there.  Todd said it sounded good though, so that’s something.  If I get even just 50% of the total 130 points for it, I’ll be happy since I think I may have pulled a high A or even 100% on the final.  I was cruising on that puppy.

I have one small 60 point project to finish up for my Managerial Accounting class and I’d hoped to have time tonight, but I don’t so I’ll finish that one up on Tuesday and then that’s it.  AIS is totally finished and I went into the final with a 99.4, so I can’t complain.  Up until the final and the final project, I missed 3 points of the total 570 available.  I can’t feel bad about that at all….

Managerial?  Well… Let’s just say that it was a struggle for me, right to the end.  My heart wasn’t in it.  I want to go back and learn more financial accounting… more in depth.  My next class is Intermediate Accounting.  I’m praying that some of it goes back to Financial….

It took all of the willpower I could summon up on Saturday to start on those finals.  I was seriously, seriously burnt out by that point.  Tonight it was a struggle to finish up my final project and I am debating whether or not I need to kill myself getting that small 60 point assignment done for Tuesday.  I’d like to “think” I could be a slacker and blow it off, but honestly?  I doubt it.  I like doing analysis, so I could probably work through the project and get it done easily in two hours.

I guess the problem is that I just want to be done right now.  Based on what I needed to pull off a B in that class, I went into the final (worth a total of 250 points) needing 150 points…  The 60 would just seal the deal on an A.  How much does my ego need that?  On the other side of it – Am I being disrespectful to my prof by NOT doing it??  If I am, then that stinks and I need to get my ass in gear and do it.

Yes.  This is just how my brain works.  Scary, isn’t it?

I’m having a bit of lemon pie and then it’s time for bed.  I’ve had some cuddle time with my kids and I had a lovely lunch with my family and our dear, long-time friend (verging on brother) Maxx…

It has been a busy, but great weekend.  I know I’d feel an amazing sense of relief when all of this was over and yes… I know that I’m not quite done, but I’m close enough that it feels like I’ve already crossed the finish line.  I have 3 classes of 15 total done.  I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me, but for right now I feel like it’s all going to be ok.

That’s it.  I’m toast.  Have a good night.

cheers,
moonfire

One thought on “Time to wind down after a busy weekend…

  1. Wow. Just wow. That’s a lot of work. Like you, I’m not quite a slacker. If there’s a chance to get an A, I’ll do it. Imagine my panic when I failed a test because I didn’t read the directions. I ran to the professor, asking if there was a way to bring up my grade. He actually laughed because if I had read the directions, I would of had the highest grade in the class. So I busted my butt to get it. Doesn’t our need for A’s suck?

Leave a Reply

