The Tipping Point

I can’t even begin to think how to blog this.  I’m at a point in my life where it may change drastically.  Will I look back on April 28th as that moment?  I don’t know.

I saw the hiring manager (KW) on campus today.  It was a nice surprise to see him.  He told me he’d be sending me a link for an assessment that I needed to complete – likes/dislikes profile type thing.

Later, I got a call from him that he’d sent the link and we chatted for a bit.  I thanked him again and told him that the meeting yesterday was an incredible experience for me.

So the assessment?  It was a personality profile.

I talked to my dad tonight – for about 45 minutes – and we talked about what all this means, how the timing is right, and how this is that moment for me to take that leap from the nest.  All the work… all the times when I questioned myself and wondered if I would EVER be a professional, or if I was destined to stay in positions that made me feel like I wasn’t living up to my full potential.

I am at a loss for words.  Those who know me would be shocked to hear me say it.  I don’t know what to say or write.  How do I convey the full impact of where I am at this moment.

I’ve worked front-line, support positions for most of the last 20 years.  I’ve learned a LOT.  I’ve studied.  I’ve experimented in labs… read… written… listened.

I HAVE paid my dues.  It is my time.  They may get the results of my personality test and decide I’m not for them.  I’m fine with that because I was brutally honest about who I am and what motivates me.  If I’m not a good fit, given who I am, then I don’t belong there.

That said… I believe I will be hearing positive news within a day or two.  My references are not only solid, but they are 100% backing me in my endeavors.  They will be impeccable.

I am at the tipping point – that moment when things are changed on a life scale.  The only thing that stuns me more than the fact that it’s happening is how out of the blue it happened.  I always thought I’d see it coming.  No.  I didn’t.  Apparently my time showed up in a quiet, sneaky way.  All the decisions I’ve made have been dead on and that includes working in my current spot.

I need to go to bed right now, but I will document the sequence of events that had to happen in order to come to this place.  One different decision in the last while and it wouldn’t have happened.  Doesn’t that just make you wonder?

No matter the outcome – I am proud of myself and all that I have done in my life.  I will stop selling myself short and I am going to find a renewed sense of my confidence in who I am and what I have to offer.

Cheers to all who have been with me through the documentation of this journey.  I promise – I will be sharing what lies ahead.  Perhaps my story will resonate with another person out there… you just never know.

moonfire

Leave a Reply

