Blech, but some good news…

First the bad:  steroids suck.  I’m speaking of the legal kind, though, just to be clear.  Doc’s office put me on them (burst and taper).  This is definitely a not-so-fun “cure” for the headaches.  Crossing fingers that it works.

Now the good: We’re meeting with Bren’s school this afternoon at 2pm.  Glad I was the persistent mom and emailed the coordinator.  I’m already forming a back-up plan if they say he isn’t eligible for services.  That’s me…. the anal-retentive planner.  sigh…

I showed my husband the fail blog posting I put up a day or two ago.  He got a good chuckle over it.  He KNOWS if he ever told me something like that, he’d be in big trouble.  Actually, I can’t imagine him ever telling me something was “my job”…  He’d probably do the duck-and-cover right after he said it.

I’m at work, but I have to be honest, I’m queasy from the medication, my head still hurts, and I’m tired.  I figure they’re going to get about 15% from me today.  BUT – if the steroids work, I’m planning to put in extra time next week and give a little back to my co-workers who have been taking good care of me.  I may bitch and moan about my job, but I have the best bunch of people to work with.  We’re like a strange little family.

So I was thinking about that… which would I rather have?  (Bren and I play this game all the time!)

– Fantastic co-workers and a job that is mind-numbing

– Fantastic job and mind-numbing co-workers

Hmmm….  Well, if it were a perfect world, which it’s not even close to being, I’d want fantastic BOTH.

Still… I think the wonderful group of people wins out.  Job duties ebb and flow.  But if you work with good people, it can make being at work just a bit better.

***

Back to the headaches.  It’s weird.  I honestly think it’s nothing more worrisome than stress.  Yes, it’s crummy that they’ve lasted this long, but hell… I’m maxed out as far as I can be right now.  What do I expect?  Plus, and this makes me cringe to admit it – I’m not a “spring chicken” anymore.  What a funny expression, but it’s the truth.  In less than 2 months I turn 40.  I am neither the figure of fitness, nor am I the figure of nutritional health.

Treat your body like I do and you, too, can enjoy saggy body and mind-numbing headaches.  Tsk.

If I were the grown-up me talking to the child-like me…. I’d say, “Well, Shannon [head shake, slowly, side to side], this is what happens when you don’t take care of yourself.”  I’m sure we can all imagine the smug, parental tone in that comment, right?

***

Todd’s gift to me is that he is going to brave DMV today and get the registration handled on the small car.  What a good guy.  🙂

Well, I’m about out of brain power for the moment.  My eyes feel like two pee-holes in a snowbank and my tummy is doing the hoochie-coochie dance of blechiness.  (Say that fast a couple times… it’s fun, trust me)

Cheers on this beautiful spring day,
moonfire

Leave a Reply

