land of the lost

I have no idea what to do.  I think any differentiation that was happening in Bren’s kindergarten class has stopped.  I don’t know for sure, but from what he’s saying, it sounds that way.

I don’t know if it’s because he’s become resistant to doing work or if his teacher has assumed that his needs will be addressed through the gifted services.  He was pulled out of class to do the first of two assessments today.  I can’t tell if it was the intellectual or the academic.  I think it was the intellectual one…  I think…

Todd and I talked about it tonight.  We are struggling to provide him with things to stretch his mind.  Todd’s slammed with school – I’m working a lot and my own school starts on Monday.

(consider this the moment where I let loose with a primal scream, which I’d do, but the kids are in bed, so it’s strictly internal at this point)

I’m pondering the wisdom of sending his teaching an email and asking her what is happening with Bren.  I don’t know what to say…

I told Bren’s doctor that we’re getting exhausted trying to keep up with him…. well, duh.  Now I don’t even know if he’s doing anything interesting in kindergarten.  We made the bucky ball out of gumdrops and toothpicks and I’m sending it into his class with him for tomorrow.  He’s got a bag of spice gum drops, so the kids will enjoy that part.  The bucky ball looks pretty cool.

What do you do when you’ve got a kid in school and it doesn’t seem like it’s doing much for them?

I guess I’ll write that email now.

bah.

moonfire

One thought on “land of the lost

  1. I know homeschooling is out of the question, but have you considered looking into some of the resources and workbooks and educational stuff? Maybe you can supplement him at home with that on the weekends? Just to stretch his mind since he’s clearly way ahead of the other kids his age.

Leave a Reply

