Fitness and Nutrition

Just added a new link category on my blogroll.  I’m going to start taking myself a little bit more to task for getting my health together.  The thing with the moles and the dentist visit are just the beginning.  Todd and I need to get committed, fully, to improving our nutrition and our fitness – not just for us, but for our children too.

This was a part of my resolve for this year and I intend to see it through.  This week took a massive hit due to scheduling and doctor’s appointments.  The fact is that I have to get my 40 hours in each week and my tutoring schedule on Mondays and Wednesdays means I really push my timing on it.  I’m shifting my tutoring slightly later on those days so I can ensure that I meet my work-hours commitment, without leaving me too crunched for time to go work out at the rec center.  With our shift to the new community college, I won’t be able to use payroll deduction for my monthly fees on it and that means I’ve only got to the end of June to get myself on track before I’ll need to figure out something else.

Todd’s work is having some negative impacts on us as well, so I’m looking into ways we can change that.  Working the day shift for the next while will help him, but it still has a massive impact on my weekend schedule because I’m on full-time childcare for the weekend – this impairs my ability to go to the gym for working out.  This is why we’re doing the walk today… we all need to get out of the house.  It’d be easier to do this with warmer weather, but we can bundle up.  I can pick up some fresh foods and we can have something healthy for dinner tonight (older child-willing, though…geez).

Since Todd’s on days this weekend, I’m going to get him to get the little car registered on Tuesday… then I can drive into work early on Tuesdays through Fridays…  maybe Mondays too, if he’s really going to be on the day shift.  A lot about Mondays depends on the generosity of his buddy on the opposing shift.  We’ll see how it goes.

So I’m going to start collecting links to blogs for people who have great fitness and nutrition ideas.  I know Kris will offer some advice (grins and a subtle hint).  I’m pulling out the music after we get back from the store and I’m going to turn up something fun so I can scrub bathrooms and vacuum the upstairs – all good calorie burners.

But, as the link I’ve added in Fitness and Nutrition says, it’s 80% kitchen and I’ve been reading that elsewhere too.  It’s not about the fitness at this point, so much as it is about breaking hideously bad habits that we’ve drifted into.  Fatigue, over-scheduling, and financial matters have all hit us – creating this perfect storm of bad choices.  We KNOW we need to change things.  We’ve talked about it and wanted to get there.  Mum set this up perfectly with her Valentine’s gift of the giant fruit bowl… so let’s get to it.

I’ve got the pickiest 6 year-old on the planet – so getting him to eat healthy is a fight.  Actually, just getting him to eat good food period is a fight.  That is going to be the issue tackled this evening…. We’re starting with ONE healthy dinner and a healthy breakfast for tomorrow.  Then we’ll go from there.

Wish me luck.  This is going to be a rough night!

moonfire

Leave a Reply

