The journey starts…

I got my assigned kids tonight.  Obviously I can’t say anything about them due to confidentiality, but I will say this:  I am excited.

It’s not breaking confidentiality about the company to say that I was told when I was interviewing with them that they have a ton of refugee and ELL students coming in to our area.  I’m originally (long, long ago) from Vancouver, BC, a very culturally diverse place.  I wanted to have students who are new to this country because I’ve been in their situation…  we traveled through Mexico, Guatemala, and Belize when I was a kid.  It was an amazing and yet scary experience, not being able to speak the native language.  We learned a lot, but it was always a challenge.

We were treated SO well and I love that I will be able to do the same for kids.

I’ll be honest…  This is perhaps the scariest thing I’ve ever done.  I’ve never taught, except “unofficially” with my kids and in volunteer situations.  I’ve never met a child who didn’t like me and I’ve usually had a great deal of patience for them (although my own will sometimes take me down to the nubs!)…

I like to know what I’m doing.  That’s perhaps why this is so hard.  I know intellectually and intuitively that I can do this and hopefully do it very well.  It’s just that I don’t know it 100%… I don’t have concrete training.

But what better thing to teach my kids than stepping outside of where you are comfortable?  If we never try to move beyond what we know, how can we learn and experience new things??

Have I become so fearful of stepping out of that zone?

(I am picturing that figurative smacking upside and down the other of my head!)

I believe in teaching.  I believe it with all my heart.  My poor sense of security is agonizing these days because I know this won’t help my family be financially secure.  I guess I’m just going to remember that some things are worth more than money…. And Todd better get that degree because we’ll sure need it!  oy.

I’m tired and it’s time for bed now.  I have this sense of wonder that I was actually allowed to do this.  Do you know what had to come together?  My job had to be supportive…. my husband had to be supportive… and I had to get through the interview, reference check, and background check…

I had to get myself pumped up to do it – to stop waiting for life to happen and to start doing.

And isn’t that what I’ve been griping about for the last couple of months?  Well, here I go.  As my mum says, “Pitter Patter, let’s get at her…”

Cheers,
Shannon

Leave a Reply

