oh yeah, sure…

Had a laughing (and not in a good way) moment this morning….  The expert said you’re supposed to have 6-12 months expenses saved.

And let me just ask this:  HOW THE HELL DO YOU DO THAT WHEN YOU’RE LIVING PAYCHECK TO PAYCHECK???

Let’s say your monthly expenses are $2000 (lower than ours), that means you need $12000 to $24000.  If you have an extra $500 per month (which I can tell you we don’t), you would have to save for 24 to 48 months to have that money.  In my case, I’d be lucky to have an extra $100 per month for savings, given that we are making pitiful-small money.  It would take me 120 months to save up $12000.  For anyone doing the math – that would be 10 years.  If I was even luckier and managed to squeeze $200 per month out, I could do it in five years.

WTH?

I just thought I’d put this out there.

I’m going to get up off my butt and go take care of the boxes in the garage.  Then I’m going to laugh some more over this.  Reality check, anyone?

Leave a Reply

