What a day…

This will have to be quick, as I’m getting ready to head off for the day.  I worked my butt off and got a lot done.  Maybe not enough, but it was still something and it felt good.

Watched the market news this afternoon and had to shake my head.  There is blame tossed around everywhere, with incredibly narrow-minded and mean comments posting on various sites.  It strikes me as I read these that very few are commenting in a manner that actually reflects what we’ll have to do…  blame all you want, but in the end it’ll be up to all of us to turn things around.  The comments about getting a couple jobs cleaning houses, serving fast food, in order to survive?  Well, I’ve worked those jobs – sometimes two or three at a time – WHEN I WAS SINGLE – and I can tell you that they don’t pay enough to support a person.  I guess that’s the hard part to get some people to understand.  You can work hard, be conscientious and STILL not be able to meet your bills – when things keep costing more and more, while wages remain stagnant.

There comes a point where it’s not living beyond your means… it’s trying to live period.

I’ll step down off my soap box now and say this:  I’m glad I’m employed.  I’m nervous because even having state employment right now doesn’t guarantee anything.  Our state has had to do layoffs before…  I just hope we don’t get there again.  I’m going to cross all my fingers and toes, say a little prayer, burn some incense, dance under the moon, anything… in the hopes that my husband applies for and gets that full-time job.  Maybe things will get worse… maybe they’ll get better.  I have absolutely no idea which will happen.  What I do know is this:  there is no sense in not taking precautions now.

I’m not scared anymore.  I’m just tired.  And I’m to the point where I can’t begin to guess what is coming in the upcoming weeks, months, and perhaps year or two.  All I can do is work hard, take care of my kids, love my husband, and be supportive for those around me.  I’ll work on my teaching degree because there will always be kids who need to learn.  Other than that?  I have no idea. 

I can’t even say I’m pessimistic, because honestly, this is all new territory to me.

Won’t it be interesting to see what tomorrow brings?

cheers,
moonfire.

Leave a Reply

