Skippyjon and a finalized school schedule…

I have a great academic advisor.  She met with our department chair and went over all of my questions.  She and the chair managed to narrow down the classes I will need to take and got it straightened out so that I’ll be able to do my M.A. with the necessary certification classes in the same amount of time it would have taken to do the second B.A.

Instead of having to do 80 undergrad credits – they’ve got it worked out so I only need 62 for certification, with the majority at a graduate level instead of undergraduate.

This is going to be rough – it means 3-4 classes per semester (except for summers, when I’ll do 2) and they’ll be at a graduate level, so that means a higher level of expectation and work.  I’m almost intimidated, but the department highly recommends that I NOT do the second BA, due to salary levels post-graduation.  Another aspect is financial aid.  As a graduate student, I’ll be eligible for financial aid – once I get myself reinstated.

But the key here was that I got the involvement of my department and I got excellent advising.  I trust in what she is telling me and I’ll have to suck it up and do the work to get through.  I can do this.  I can do the work and make it through.  I have a job where they are incredibly flexible and supportive of my doing this.  If I work hard, I can graduate Spring 2012 with my M.A. in Early Childhood Education, with a blended certification in Early Childhood/Early Childhood Special Education.  I’ll be able to teach and I’ll have survived the graduate degree.

And yes… it’s going through my head that this is bordering on insanity.  But I will be learning some amazing things…  Here’s my little prayer…

Please, please, please let me have the strength to do this and to do it well
Please let me find a way to balance work, school and family
Please let me love my classes
And let me find the energy to do it all

The four books tonight were every “Skippyjon Jones” book that we currently have.  Holy Guacamole has become a permanent part of my lexicon.

I love my boys.  They are seriously goofy little dudes and sometimes the drama gets to be a bit much, but I do love our cuddles and the giggles and the sweet little kisses good night.

Tomorrow is going to be hellishly busy and tomorrow night I get to de-stress with my friend, Helen.  We’re going to talk about her school plans.  I’m excited for her, even though I know she might have to wait a little longer than she’d hoped.

And here is the point where I really don’t know what else to say right now.  Weird.  I’ve said what I need to Todd… and he understood – thank you thank you thank you!  I’ve busted my butt at work and it made a small dent, but tomorrow I’ll work even harder.  I read to my boys tonight.  I got my school schedule finalized and faced the fact that no matter what I do, this is going to be a hard path.

I could have chosen the lighter, easier path via undergraduate classes, but I wonder if that would have been me wimping out.  Would I have regrets if I’d done that?

Everyday we’re faced with choices.  We do the best we can and we adapt so we can survive.  The key to adaptation for grown-ups is changing the path or adjusting the course when new info comes in.  I’m doing that.

It’s the end of the day.  The house is quiet and the world around here has gone dark.  I can go to sleep now, happy in the knowledge that I’ve done the best I can.

buenas noches,
moonfire.

Leave a Reply

