Some thoughts from a mom who is working and going to school

I’ve got a paper to finish writing, but before I get to that, I need to write this blog.

I’m going to start off with a clear (or at least as clear as possible) picture of who I am.

I’m a mom with two small children, ages 5 (will turn 6 in November) and 16 1/2 months old.  I am a naturalized citizen, meaning that I not only moved here from Canada, but I chose to stay and I went through the difficult process to become a citizen – in other words, I believed enough in this country to WORK to become a citizen and now I’m raising two little natural born citizens.

I tend to be liberal and I’m very conscious of the need to care for those around me – I seek that attitude in those that I vote for.

I have my own opinions (and this blog reflects them) and I respect that others have their own as well.  This doesn’t mean I agree with them and it certainly doesn’t mean that I won’t attempt to persuade people who don’t agree with me to my point of view.

I live in a city that is small by national standards, but is still the one of the bigger ones in the Northwest.  The area that I live in is very conservative and because of this, I sometimes find myself keeping quiet about my beliefs.

I work a full-time job, am taking 7 credits for graduate studies, and, starting next Monday, I’ll be working a part-time job too.  My husband has a part-time job and is a full-time undergraduate student.  We rent and will be moving to a new rental in 2 1/2 weeks.  We own two vehicles – one minivan and one sub-sub-compact.  The smaller car has not been working for 6 months and will probably stay that way for at least another 4 months.  Once we get it fixed, we’re planning to try to sell it.

With all of this going on, we still read and watch the news.  We spend time together when we can, but our schedules are so different that it’s infrequent.  We love our children very much and do everything we can to help them learn, feed them, and keep them safe.

Why do I say all this?  Well… I’ve been watching the financial news lately and I can’t believe what I’m seeing.  I’ve had enough business classes, including economics, to understand there is a business cycle and things will rise and fall naturally.  It’s not surprising to see much of the national choices (government, business, and personal) coming back to bite us.  What is getting to me though is the short-sightedness of some leading us.  And even worse, I’m concerned about who will be leading us in the future.

I might as well say this right now, there is no way in hell that I’ll vote for McCain/Palin.  But in an essentially 2 party dominated system, that means my choice has to be Obama/Biden.  I’ve been meaning to check out the Obama website, get to know his intentions and start confirming my choice.  So this morning I did it.  I went over to the website and I looked at it.

There are some interesting things outlined there.  I see that he understands that things need to be done for those getting hurt the worst in the current financial situation.  I’m glad that he has a plan for our seniors.  I can’t imagine anything worse than getting to your old age and being forced to work because you can’t feed yourself or keep a decent roof over your head.

But my question is this:  Are these plans doable?  With all the bail-outs and the government “supporting” failing companies because they are “too big to fail,” can we afford the things we need for the lower paid people in this country?

I want to know that his plans can actually be put into practice.  And more, I want to know that if he’s elected, the House and Senate will work with him to bring some relief to people.

I guess that’s my biggest question.  Can it work and will it actually be done?

I think the time for words is done.  The time for action is beginning.  Whoever is lucky/unfortunate enough to be elected better be thinking about the little guys in this country.  Those big, wealthy folks can take care of themselves…  it’s the seniors on fixed incomes, the families, the low-paid workers, and the unemployed who need the help now.

Create jobs.
Decrease lower- and middle-income workers taxes.
Reward creative solutions and let’s get our great national intelligence working to improve things, for the short AND long term.
STOP rewarding top management of failed firms.  If I fail in class, I don’t get a reward.  If my kindergartner does something bad, there are consequences…  I think big business could learn a thing or two from families – especially busy, tired moms and dads.

In the meantime, I’ll keep plugging away at school, work and home.  I’ll keep teaching my kids how to get along and I’ll do what I can to be a positive part of where the country it headed.

This is just one more voice in the big mess of them.  I hope somebody starts listening to us.

(and for the record, I’m hanging tough with Washington Mutual.  I hope they weather the storm they are going through… We’re loyal customers and we’re sticking it out with them)

leaving the soapbox now,
moonfire.

Leave a Reply

