How to be REALLY busy!

I got the interview for the part-time job at our local city library.  It’s 19 hours per week – M, T, Th nights 5-9pm and Sundays 9-5, with a one hour lunch.  The pay is really tiny, $8.58 per hour to start, but it’s experience.  Essentially my life will be distilled down to working, studying and hanging out whenever I can with my kids.

If I have to, I will ask my “big boss” if I can cut my schedule here by 10 hours per week.  I’ll only do that as a last resort though.  Todd will have to take over getting the boys to bed on Mondays and Thursdays…  We’ll get a back-up babysitter arranged, but my mum has said she’ll help with watching the boys.  It’ll be hard.  There is no getting around it.  Adding it on top of an already busy schedule with studying and everything, it’ll be scary hard.  I’m going to map out my week and see how I’ll make this all work. 

I already told Todd that it means he’ll have to do pretty much all of the housework.  He understands this…  and seems ok with it.  What it also means is that any time I set aside for the kids and Todd will be dedicated to them.  Friends will have to come to our house….  Family too, for that matter. 

I have to work out the logistics of it, but I know it can be done.  Frankly, what else can I do?  I promise this though – to my family:  I promise, promise, promise (a hundred times over) that I will be there for you, no matter what, when all of this degree is done.  I will do whatever I have to in order to ensure that you get time with me.  I won’t let you down.  This won’t be forever.  And if you begin to suffer because I’m not giving you enough of me, I’ll find a way to change it.

On that note, I have an almost 2 month break between fall and spring semesters…. plus any holidays that the library is closed, I won’t have to work.  If I can make it even 6 months doing this, it’ll make a huge difference.  Where there is a will, there is a way.  

The interview is tomorrow at 10am.

I’ll do my best.  And that’s all anyone can ask, right?

moonfire.

Leave a Reply

