Oh! My poor body… my poor head!

Long, hellish day moving the old office over to the new office suite AND it’s my last day with them.  Tomorrow I start my new job.  I hope it goes well.  I’m dead tired and I feel blue about leaving the “nest” where I’ve been for the last two and half years.  I’m ready to promote, I just wish it didn’t have to be this way.  That’s fine though.  I’m ready.

I had a mojito after work with my friends from my old department.  Now I have a headache.  But it was lovely to be with them.  We talked about the ups and downs…  We laughed.  It was so hard saying goodbye.  I can’t explain it.  It is simply hard to leave.

I wish this wasn’t how it had to be, but I know I need to do this – for my own sanity and for my family.

As for the meeting with the teacher yesterday.  Well.  Hmm.  We’re going to talk to Bren’s principal on Monday afternoon.  Bren likes the teacher and I think he’ll have fun, but how much he’ll gain??  Well, honestly, I don’t think it will give him the things he needs most.  He’ll enjoy the year but he may end up slowed down because of the pace they are going to have.  One letter per week?  This, after they cover all 26 in 26 days.  Well, that’s excellent for the normal students – seriously, I think it’s a great strategy and everything they have planned is very developmentally appropriate.

Where I have an issue is Bren learned his alphabet over two years ago.  He’s reading and I mean he’s reading at first grade or higher level.  Some of the things he didn’t do during the assessment had more to do with poor instruction than him not knowing how to do the things she was talking about.  I understand this is assessment, but not redirecting the instructions seems odd.  Ok, I know… let it go.

The most difficult thing is that the assessment she did really didn’t do anything to figure out where he is intellectually or on a social-development scale.  I know, that’s not what the point was, but we NEED to find out.  And if this is necessary for Bren, I think it’s equally necessary for those other boys too (although that is definitely at the other parents discretion…). Oh wait, I don’t know if I mentioned that… There are a couple other boys in her class that are advanced like he is.  That’s excellent!  He’ll have peers that he can explore with.  I love that aspect.  And she’s a nice young woman who truly likes interacting with the kids.  I like her humor.  What I’m worried about is her level of experience.  Bren is challenging.  That might be putting it mildly.

I love my son and I want him to absolutely LOVE school.  I want to be proactive without being obnoxious.  I want to ensure that we take care of his needs.  If he were able to continue on the learning curve he is already working on, he’ll blow past kindergarten in no time.  How do I sit back and not try to do something for him?  He started reading at 4 1/2.  He is creative, expressive and has a funky sense of humor.  His ability to deal with frustration and disappointment gets better every day.

Add to all of this the fact that he is tall and well-developed for his age… I just want to make sure that we don’t let him down by being passive.  It would be so easy to disregard what we know intuitively, as well as quantitatively.  We could blindly send him off to school and I’m sure he’d be fine… for now.  Eventually though, I believe that we’d end up in trouble with him.

I think about where he could be in a couple years and I know it’s only going to get more and more challenging for us as parents.  Keeping up with him is going to be more difficult.  Best that we learn how to address things now, so we can work WITH his teachers… instead of expecting them to do it all for us.  That’s too much to ask of them and really, it’s ultimately our responsibility.  We are our children’s advocates.  We know them best and we know, whether consciously or subconsciously, what is best for them.

The response we’ve had from the school district so far has been great.  They are supportive and willing to talk to us.  That’s the first step.  I’m interested to hear what the principal has to say.  We’re open to whatever ideas he presents.  And we’re willing to be patient, to a point.  There will come a time, though, when professionals will have to help us.  Todd & I aren’t equipped to assess Brennan as fully as he needs.

I’ll keep posting how it goes and Jenny, you may be hearing from us in the next couple of weeks.  We will take care of him.  That’s just what parents do.

cheers!!
moonfire.

Leave a Reply

