An update and some encouragement for myself…

Aidan has come out of it just fine, although he is so skinny it’s scary.  Is that some kind of theme lately?  So the current standing order is to feed him like crazy.  I continuously offered him foods yesterday, which he nibbled on like a tiny bird.  This is not the “Moose” we all know and love, so it’s going to be a full-time thing in order to get his weight up.  Luckily, he’s with gramma today and she’ll work on it.  I could feel his ribs last night, when I was rubbing his back.  It just didn’t feel right.

But he’s doing well, other than the weight issue.  No more scary temperatures.  Even the cranky factor has diminished.  His smile is back and he’s laughing at big brother again.  That makes life excellent.  Funny how that’s all it takes, isn’t it?

I didn’t get much sleep last night…  Just about 5 1/2 hours.  I stayed up to write the letter of interest for a professional position at the university where I work.  It’s a 20-hour per week position, with a decent annual salary.  It would be perfect with school and kids.  But here’s the kicker…  It would actually make use of my English degree and my background as an editorial assistant.  Actually, it would also make use of my administrative support skills and my experience as a staff-member on campus.  In so many ways it would be a perfect fit.  Now I have to ensure that my letter of interest truly reflects this.

This means that instead of sleeping, healing my body, and being rested this morning, I am dead tired.  But it was worth the lost sleep.  If I can hold it together and make it to the end of the day, I will finish polishing my letter and revamping my resume so I can submit them tonight.  The job was posted on June 9th, however, it’s still out there and it’s only 20 hours a week, so I’m hoping that the competition hasn’t already reached final stages.

I suppose if I’ve missed the window it wasn’t meant to be, but it’s an opportunity that I simply can’t pass up.  I actually have something to offer them.  It’s kind of shocking me.  I’d started to believe that I couldn’t do something different.  Here is a chance that I might actually be able to put to use the education and background I have.

I’m slightly stunned.

So here’s my bit of encouragement for myself:  You can do this.  You ARE qualified.  You would do a great job and you would grow with it as you progress through your degree.  Not only could you help other graduate students but you could also develop your own skills in preparation for writing your Master’s thesis.  This is a winning situation for both you and the university.  Keep your chin and your confidence up.  Remember the lessons learned this past week – follow what is important, focus, be honest and true to yourself, and above all else, take care of your family.

That’s it for me.  I need to shower and get into work.  I’m a suffering mess right now.  I’ll be honest…  If I make it through the day without doing something incredibly stupid, I’ll count it as a successful day at work!

Cheers,
a limp moonfire

Leave a Reply

