Sometimes you just have to make the first step

This one will be quick, as I need to get quite a bit done at work today.  I enrolled in two distance classes (undergraduate, as the University of Idaho classes aren’t ALA-accredited so there’s no sense in paying more for graduate level classes that won’t count towards my degree).  I’m taking Cataloging and Classification, as well as Organization and Management of Small Libraries.

By taking these two classes, I’ll have the necessary qualifications – at least from an education stand-point, to apply for the entry-level library assistant positions with our state and local libraries.  Rather than moving on to a position where I know my time will be limited, I’m getting a bit of coursework out of the way that will help my move in to my field.  It’s exciting. 

The interesting part about making this step is that it is really the first in many that I’ll take as I move forward with what I love to call my “first real career.”  I’ve spent so many years doing secretarial/clerical support, just waiting for the “real jobs” that I’ve never really felt like a full-grown adult.  I know that sounds stupid, but it’s how I’ve felt.  There are folks out there who do what I’m doing right now and it’s a career for them – they might love it, hate it, or feel indifferent, but they still feel like it’s ok. 

I’ve just never managed to get to that point. 

As further explanation… I was reading through the materials I’ll have to cover for the Cataloging and Classification class and I was getting excited.  This is anal-retentive stuff to the Nth degree.  It’s perfect for me.  And I’m not kidding about that either!!

It’s weird, though, to be sitting here and knowing that today, at some point, I’ll begin the studying I need so I can stop all the waiting.  No more thinking about “a year from now” or ” a few months from now…”  The future is beginning today.  I realized this morning that signing up for these classes yesterday was that turning point.  I will be able to look back on May 7th, 2008 (a dear friend’s birthday, by the way) and I will remember it as the day that I stopped waiting.

What a great feeling!

Ok.  Back to work.  Lot’s to do.  Luckily for me it’s dead in here for the summer.  I forsee some studying in my near future!!

Cheers (with a HUGE grin),
moonfire.

Leave a Reply

