Nostalgia and other thoughts

I’m waiting on various responses before I can get some big tasks done, so I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on a couple things.

First… I was walking in to work this morning, listening to Fleetwood Mac and it hit me that we used to listen to “Rumours” on the bus to school each morning back on Vancouver Island.  It was the 70’s – don’t ask me what year, because I was a kid and we didn’t measure time by things like “years,” rather in the increments of time between being at school and being out in the world having our kid adventures.  I know it was probably spring, although, I suppose it could just as easily have been fall.  The ride was long enough that we got to listen to at least 1/2 the album before we got to school.  And it was on cassette.

Between that memory and looking at the school where Bren will be going this next year, I find myself remembering the fun I had as a kid.  I wish Bren could have the kind of freedom I had.  We played on the beach for hours almost every day.  We wandered through our little fishing village, on the West Coast of Vancouver Island, with no thoughts of worry for our parents… well, none that were communicated to us at least.

Ah, interruptions took care of that thought.  It’s nice though, to remember the past and how there were parts of it that were worth while keeping in my “memory boxes” as Bren puts it.  There are parts about living on the island that I miss, even as I know that there was a great deal to NOT miss about it. 

That’s a story for another day, though.

Less than 2 hours until my interview.  I have no preconceived notions about what to expect.  I don’t feel a sense of pressure to pursue this with all “guns firing,” but I do want to go with an open mind. 

A funny note.  I bought shoes last night.  I found some great ones at Fred Meyer (don’t laugh, I love their shoes).  My feet were swollen and today they are 1/2 size too big.  I can’t win.  I’ll get some insoles to help, but this is sad.  I love these shoes and I think they didn’t have them in 7 1/2, so I’m stuck.  They are comfy and with some insoles they might just fit.  Otherwise…  gah.

The refund from our old landlords has finally shown up.  And not with us.  I think those landlords were a bit nuts.  We gave them our forwarding information OVER AND OVER.  Still they managed to screw it up.  Mind-boggling.  Seriously mind-boggling. 

If they can’t deal with us properly, what are they like for the property owners??  It makes me cringe.

Still no emails back.  This is funny.  I guess it’s time to tackle some of the other small things I need to clear off my desk.  

No worries.  Everything happens for a reason.  It’ll be interesting to see what comes out of today.  It’ll be interesting to see what the next couple of weeks brings.  Less stress would be nice.  But I’m not going to hold my breath over it.

Cheers from a mildly optimistic moonfire.

Leave a Reply

