Interview tomorrow, relief?

Often times, we know when it’s time to let go of something, that it’s time to move on and start on a new path.

I’m there right now.  Some folks think that getting a raise will make an unpalatable situation all better, but that sweetness only disguises that you’re still swallowing crap.  I’m ready to stop now.  The first step was submitting my application last week, but then I got smart and followed things up with an email to our HR department.  It turns out I didn’t even need to go through the work of submitting the online application.  Because it will be a voluntary demotion, all I had to do was send out my resume to the two departments with the current openings.

I have an interview with one of them at 4pm tomorrow.  One of my friends, here in our building, knows the person I’m in contact with and says she’s really nice.  What a wonderful thought!!

The upside to all of this is that my new department will get the benefit of my years of experience here on campus, plus a really decent skill set.  All I’m asking in return is a happy work environment and some leeway when I have to travel to Portland for my grad classes.  Ok, and some leeway when I have to deal with my children.

I’m asking a lot but I think I have a lot to offer. 

It’s possible, although I’m not counting on anything at this point, that I will have some relief from all this stress by the middle of May.

My birthday is May 18th.  It’s the last birthday of my 30’s.  I think that would be a spectacular birthday present.

For the record, I’d be losing $1-$2 per hour with this demotion.  It is ABSOLUTELY worth it.  If I’m faced with a choice between the continuing stress here and more money (they want to get this position promoted) or a demotion, with less stress and less money… I’ll take the tighter paychecks.  Tonight I need to think about how I want to present myself and what I want to say.  I need to be positive, upbeat and honest, all without shooting myself in the foot.

Yes, I’m leaving for reasons that are negative.  At the same time, I’m not leaving in a huff.  I’m leaving because I honestly can’t give these guys what they need and want.  As I told my boss this morning, I’m worn out.

Everything has it’s season.  This one is done. 

Time for the next story to be written.

Cheers,
moonfire.

2 thoughts on “Interview tomorrow, relief?

  1. I’m doing the same thing Shannon! I can’t say much… don’t want to let the cat out of the bag quite yet (you never know who lurks here)… but I’ve made the same choice. Mine is a $12,000 a year demotion but the reduced stress, etc. will be worth it (I hope).

    -Jenny

  2. Oooh! I’ll cross my fingers for you! I am absolutely with you on this one! Decreasing stress and making ourselves happier so we can be better members of our families is important. I know my kids would certainly appreciate it!

    And so would my honey!!

    I’ll cross my fingers for you!
    Shan

Leave a Reply

