Lunch (?) break and celebration!

I’m really horrible about taking lunch breaks.  Part of the problem is that I like my day to be as short as possible.  Yes, taking a break is important, but my sanity is equally important.  Shortening a 9 hour day to 8 may not sound like much, but it does make a difference.

 

Today it took me almost 2 full hours to get to work because of the snow that dumped on us.  It wasn’t a huge amount, in the greater scheme of things, but the fluffy snow combined with the ice from the frozen rain made it treacherous.  And I was driving my kids to the grandparents house, so I was being as cautious as possible.  Add the commute to my day and I’m looking at almost 12 hours today…

 

Is it any wonder that I don’t want to prolong the time with that pesky lunch hour?  A counterpoint to this argument is the fact that I need to eat.  I also need to stretch my legs and see some other environment for a bit.  So I bought my boss coffee this morning.  It was a good excuse to get away, plus I was celebrating.  Yes.  I was celebrating the fact that my formal acceptance into my graduate program came into my email this morning.  What a lovely way to start off my day!

 

I know the hard work is coming when I start in August, but for now I can bask in the happiness that I made it through.  I was so worried.  It’s nothing new for me to be worried about how I do in academic areas, but in this instance I had a lot of my heart wrapped up in it.  I’ve spent the better part of the last two years interviewing professionals and researching the field.  I’ve looked at my interests, both academic and personal, and library and information science is a great match for me.  Knowing this, it’s been hard to sit back and wait for the acceptance letter. 

 

I even went so far as to plan my backup strategy, but truthfully, my heart wasn’t in it. 

 

Now I have reason to smile.

 

The back side of this happy news is the thought that we will have some major coordinating to do starting this fall.  Todd will be working (hopefully) and so will I.  We’ll both be in school and Brennan will be in Kindergarten for half days.  The baby will have to go to gramma’s house and that means two trips taking kids out there, each day.  Then the big pick up at the end of the day.  We’ll have to fit in workouts, homework, family time, AND time for ourselves…

 

I’m actually thinking that I need to consider finding a part-time position here on campus in order to make this work.  I don’t know any other way to do it.

 

For now there is nothing I can do about it.  Until we know more – Bren’s schedule (and which school he’ll be attending), Todd’s schedule for classes, and our financial aid awards…

 

Well.  Let’s just say there are a lot of unknowns to be factored in.  We’ll know more by April or May.

 

Other people do it and survive.  I’m sure we will too.

 

Cross your fingers for us. 

 

Cheers,
moonfire

2 thoughts on “Lunch (?) break and celebration!

  1. Moonfire,
    You’ll be fine. You WILL survive. I liken life to the size of a purse: the bigger the purse, the more we put in it. The more you have to do, the more you CAN do (seemingly miraculously). The fact that your life is changing for the sake of education is certainly something to celebrate! Education is something that nobody can ever take away from you…something that you do by yourself and for yourself. My degrees empower me!

    Regarding your musing about lunch breaks: the most important thing I learned in my first year of teaching was to take a lunch break. I used to sit in my classroom and work through lunch (eat, work, eat, work, etc.). The lack of socialization would have hurt my career had my neighboring teacher not enlightened me. As it turned out, my colleagues really wanted to see me in the lunch room with the rest of them. Going to lunch was truly magical; not only was it the key to socialization around the buildig, but it was also a MUCH needed break that I was not willing to give myself–one that my colleague had to force me to take.

    Congratulations on your grad school acceptance! Good luck with all of your life adjustments:)

    Brinkmannship

  2. Brinkmannship,
    What a wonderful analogy! And it’s so true, isn’t it? The more that we have thrown at us, the more we seem to adapt and thrive. Of course, at this rate, it won’t be a purse anymore… it’ll be a whole set of luggage!! I know that somehow we’ll figure out how to fit the pieces together, even if it takes some serious calendaring (funny how that word, artificial though it is, has become a major part of my lexicon).

    As for lunch. Hmmm. Perhaps I can find a small break in the day. I work on a university campus and at the very least it’s a humorous event when I do make it out of my department, wading into the sea of students. Nothing cheers the spirits like watching the energy on campus. Now if only some of that energy would flow my way!

    Still, it would be nice if there was a quiet space for staff to retreat to around mid-day. Sometimes we need a place to go to recharge. I’ll have to ponder that one a bit more.

    moonfire

Leave a Reply

